Back to All Events

Festival Series 4 — Shostakovich, Schumann and Dvorak

  • Gesa Power House Theatre 111 North 6th Avenue Walla Walla, WA, 99362 United States (map)

The 2016 Walla Walla Chamber Music Festival comes to a close with a program any Hollywood producer would admire.

  • Shostakovich, String Quartet in A flat, Op. 118
  • Schumann, Violin Sonata in A minor, Op. 105
  • Dvorak, Piano Quartet in E flat, Op. 87

What makes a good blockbuster? Worthy protagonists, an implacable villain, equal measures of suspense, uncertainty and volatility, and, eventually, a happy ending. WWCMF brings these plot devices together in a program of music by Shostakovich, Schumann and Dvorak.

Our protagonists are Dmitri Shostakovich, a lonely artist in Soviet Era Russia; Robert Schumann, a passionate but unstable romantic; and Antonin Dvorak, a folk hero who gave a voice to the Czech people. The villains are the Soviet machine and crises of identity in the face of overwhelming odds. The music is in turns scenic, terrifying, resolute and, ultimately, heroically triumphant. When the final credits roll, you will already be able to taste the sequel…

2017: The 10-year Anniversary of WWCMF… This time, it’s personal!

Artists: Timothy Christie, viola; Norbert Lewandowski, cello; Christina McGann, violin; Stephen Miahky, violin; Philip Payton, violin; Maria Sampen, violin; Sally Singer, cello; and Wei-Han Wu, piano.

Artists: Timothy Christie, viola; Norbert Lewandowski, cello; Christina McGann, violin; Philip Payton, violin; Maria Sampen, violin; Sally Singer Tuttle, cello; and Wei-Han Wu, piano.

Doors open at 6:30pm

Festival Series 4

Tonight’s performance is made possible by the generosity of Ben and Landra Macy.


Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)

String Quartet in A flat, Op. 118

   1. Andante

   2. Allegretto furioso

   3. Adagio

   4. Allegretto – Andante


Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Sonata in A minor for piano and violin, Op. 105

   1. Mit leidenschaftlichem Ausdruck

   2. Allegretto

   3. Lebhaft


Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904)

Quartet for Piano and Strings in E flat, Op. 87

   1. Allegro con fuoco

   2. Lento

   3. Allegro moderato, grazioso

   4. Finale. Allegro ma non troppo